Guns & Ammo Network


Collapse bottom bar
Subscribe

All Rimfired Up: Ruger SR22 Review

by G&A Staff   |  March 6th, 2012 69
Ruger-SR22_1

With loads it liked, the SR22P printed 2 1/2-inch groups at 25 yards.

Ruger’s very first firearm was the now-classic Ruger Standard Model .22 Long Rifle semiauto pistol, introduced in 1949. Its two newest handguns are likewise rimfire offerings: the SR22P, also a semiauto, and the LCR-22, a compact polymer-frame double-action revolver. In the 60-plus years since that first introduction came dozens of other rimfires, including such iconic guns as the Single-Six and the 10/22. Ruger has always been a rimfire company, and its two newest offerings continue that tradition.

Something New
The SR22P is an entirely new platform and differs from anything ever offered in the Ruger lineup. It is a compact, traditional double-action .22 semiauto with a direct blowback action. It incorporates a 3.5-inch stainless-steel barrel and features an aircraft-grade aluminum slide, glass-filled nylon polymer-frame construction and steel magazine. It is approximately the same size as a Colt M1911 Officer’s Model but weighs only 17.5 ounces.

The SR22P’s straight blowback action utilizes an accuracy-enhancing fixed-barrel design in which the slide is held closed by the recoil spring until the moment of firing, whereupon the slide is driven to the rear by the expanding gas pressure, extracting and ejecting the spent case. The recoil spring then returns the slide forward, picking up a fresh cartridge from the magazine and loading it into the chamber.

Unusual for a rimfire pistol of this format, the SR22P action utilizes an exposed hammer rather than an internal striker. After a first-shot traditional DA trigger pull, the hammer is left cocked for single-action fire with following rounds. Trigger pull is factory spec’d for 8 to 11 lbs. in double-action mode and 4 to 6 lbs. in single-action.

When the last shot in a magazine is fired, the slide stop automatically holds the slide open. When there is an empty magazine in the pistol and the slide is manually retracted, the slide stop will also automatically hold the slide open. When a loaded magazine is inserted into the SR22P with the slide closed, the slide stop does not engage when the slide is retracted—releasing the slide will charge the chamber. The user can lock the slide open at any time the gun is at rest, either with a loaded magazine inserted or no magazine present, simply by pushing upward on the slide stop lever.

The Controls
The SR22P is very user-friendly. It’s equipped with ambidextrous manual safety levers that also allow decocking without touching the trigger. When the pistol is cocked, move either the right-side or left-side safety downward from the fire (“F”) to the safe (“S”) position. When moved fully downward, the safety lever will cover the red area on the frame and the hammer will fall to the decocked position and rest on the hammer blocker (which prevents contact with the firing pin). When the safety is engaged, the trigger is disconnected from the hammer and the hammer cannot be actuated, even by moving the trigger.

Placing the pistol on safe also separates the trigger from the internal firing pin blocker, which prevents the firing pin from moving even though the trigger can be pulled rearward. With a round in the chamber and the safety engaged, the pistol can be fired simply by disengaging the safety and pulling the trigger in the double-action firing mode. Or, with safety off, you can manually cock the skeletonized and serrated hammer fully to the rear to fire single action; it is not necessary to cycle the slide to eject the chambered round and load another one. There is also a visual loaded-chamber inspection port at the top rear of the barrel chamber.

Like the manual safety, the magazine release buttons (located Browning-style behind the triggerguard) are fully ambidextrous. The SR22P has a magazine-disconnect safety that prevents the gun from being fired without a magazine in place, even when the chamber is loaded and the hammer cocked. Both supplied magazines hold 10 rounds. They feature a polymer follower with external load-assist tabs and come with two polymer base pads. One is flat, the other has a subtle forward extension for an “all-finger” grasp.

In addition to complete ambidexterity and the extended magazine pad option, the SR22P’s user-friendliness is further enhanced by the design of the grip frame itself. The pistol comes with two different wraparound polymer grip sleeves to accommodate different size hands. The surface of the sleeves have serrated gripping surfaces on the rear and the front sides, plus a deeply embossed Ruger Eagle logo. They slide tightly over the magazine well and are held in place by closely fitted detents. They’re so closely fitted, in fact, that considerable force is required to pull them free the first few times you do it. But they will break in after a few tries (without becoming loose). On the tactical side of things, the SR22P has a 1913-spec Picatinny rail with multiple cross slots on the underside of its frame.

Disassembly is a tool-free snap. Simply remove the magazine, clear the chamber and place the slide in the forward position. Then rotate the takedown lever inside the top front of the triggerguard fully downward, pull the slide fully to the rear, lift upward on the rear of the slide and remove it from the front end of the barrel. Pluck the full-length guide rod and recoil spring from the gun, and you’re through. Reassemble by reversing the procedure.

The standard-issue fixed barrel, incidentally, stays in place with the frame, although it can be removed and swapped with a threaded barrel, also available from Ruger, by following the detailed instructions provided in the instruction manual.

Small and Shootable
The SR22P sights are surprisingly good for a pistol of this size and caliber. The white-dot fixed front is drift-adjustable for windage and accepts replaceable blades of varying heights for different loads. The rear sight—which has bold white dots—is very low-profile but fully adjustable for windage and elevation. Plain black replacement rear sight blades are also available. The pistol’s handling and operation are enhanced by deep slide serrations, both front and rear. The triggerguard is squared and serrated on its front surface in case you like to wrap your forefinger there. The aluminum slide is anodized in a semi-satin black, with subtle laser-etched manufacturer and model markings. The polymer frame is dull black.

When I received the SR22P for review, I was immediately struck by how unlike any other Ruger pistol it appeared. It’s truly a different type of gun for this company. Ruger has described the specification for the SR22P as a “scaled down version of a full-size centerfire Ruger pistol, based on the SR9.” But it’s not an SR9, or even an SR9C. In fact, it looks little like either of them. Plus, its operation and mechanical function are entirely different. The existing pistol it most resembles in appearance is the similar-size Walther P22, and at first sight many remark on the similar “look” of the two pistols. Both are indeed direct-blowback .22s, but the safety systems, magazine release mechanism, grip design and takedown procedures for the two are quite different.

The second thing that struck me was how natural the SR22P felt in my hand. Its pointability is as natural as the much-praised Model 1911, and the balance afforded by its aluminum slide/polymer frame design is simply perfect. Ruger also emphasizes that while most small-scale blowback .22 rimfire pistols function reliably only with high-velocity ammunition, the SR22P is compatible with all .22 Long Rifle cartridges “loaded to U.S. industry standards,” with the possible exception of subsonic and some match-grade loads that may not have sufficient energy to cycle the slide. The company suggestion, should that happen, is simply “try another brand of ammo.”

Taking Ruger at its word, I put the little pistol to work with a half-dozen different varieties of ammo, ranging from standard velocity 40-grain to high-velocity 36-grain hollowpoints to hyper-velocity light-bullet loads. All functioned perfectly, assisted (I’m sure) by the gun’s pivoting extractor design. The only hiccup I encountered in several hundred rounds was with my first magazine, where I had neglected to remember that it’s as important to make sure all rimfire rounds are seated and aligned fully to the rear of their magazine tube as it is with centerfire .223 AR magazines (duh).

As for accuracy, the “groupability” specification for most pistols of this basic format is about four inches at 25 yards. The SR22P beat this standard easily, coming in with an overall three-inch 25-yard average for all groups fired. With the individual loads it liked best, it averaged in the 2½-inch range.

Purely by happenstance, my colleague Richard Venola showed up for an unexpected visit to PASA Park while I was working with the SR22P as well as the new LCR-22 that had arrived at the same time. We passed an entertaining hour or so shooting the two guns on the steel-target .22 rimfire range. It was all I could do to keep him from sticking the SR22P in his backpack when he left. His most emphatic comment on the new pistol was that it was “just about the only small .22 I’ve ever fired that feels completely comfortable in my hand.” Considering that his hand is about the size of a roast ham, I took that as a high compliment to the designers of the SR22P’s grip.

Ruger’s Kurt Hindle says, “We see the SR22P as an all-around fun-to-shoot .22 that’s a plinker, a trail gun or small-game pistol. It’ll function with a broad range of ammunition and is loaded with features. It is easy to disassemble and can be reassembled without the use of tools.”

That’s what I was just about to say.

Metcalf-and-Venola

Richard Venola, left, and Dick Metcalf, right, engage in a bit of rangework with the SR22P and the LCR-22.

  • Mark

    I'm a .22 fan; had a 10/22 (my son has it now). I bought a Wilson combat 1911 .22LR conversion kit for my 1911. And added a (cheap) Jimenez .22 pistol to the small collection that everyone wants to shoot at the range. This Ruger SR22 looks mighty attractive.

    • ken

      best 22lr handgun i have ever used i word at a gun shop in wyoming and i get to demo the guns. could not get it to jam or miss fire used every type of ammo at your store even some of the oldest and lower grade ammo a must buy
      im getting one with my next check

  • mark w

    Ive been looking and reading on this for a few weeks , I think its time to go get one !

  • Sam

    Suggest you WAIT before you by this one until it proves itself one way or the other. I work frequently on a range that is crowded also with civilians. Though most of my experience is with duty/defense types of firearms, we have seen many of the the Wather P-22 as well as the Sig Mosquitos. Over the last year, I have noticed a distinct drop in the presence of these two pistols. My own experience with either one of them, but especially the Wather, was anything but good. Some officers who have had these guns got rid ot them after a couple of weeks of frustration. A strictly civilian range I sometimes frequent reported they will NEVER buy another aluminum framed semi .22 to use as rentals due to the severe problems with these two .22s. I believe heavily in dry firing EVERY DAY (not with a .22) no matter how much you shoot and I believe EVERY shooter, including cops, should be started with a .22. Personally, I am on my seventh .22 Ruger Standard type pistol. I still have another one that has over 225 thousand rounds through it. I have replaced a bolt spring assembly and one firing pin. It is still running fine.

    • Fred

      My best bud and I each bought one of these little 22s. They have each see over 3000 rounds and only problems we have had is some cheap ammo glitches. Out of my 30+ handguns this little guy falls into the top ten.

  • sigrman069

    I just purchased the SR22 (my 1st .22 pistol) last week and immediately went to the range. I put 100 rounds through it with only 1 jamb. Pretty nice gun for the money.

  • Grant

    Bought one a couple of months ago, not fussy about ammo and shoots like a dream

  • Alan Laidlaw

    I bought my SR-22P the first day they were available.(My dealer is a Master Ruger Dealer and recently named "Rugers Retailer of the year") I use it almost every day in my Basic Pistol Classes. Well over 1000 rounds through it so far, and not one hic-cup! I absolutely love this gun and so do my students. Congrats on another winner Ruger!

  • james

    Bought a SR22 in January, I have about 1500 rounds through it and it has not malfunctioned! Not even one jam of any type. When it starts to get dirty after 200 or so rounds of the cheap stuff it does get a little sticky when you chamber the first round but its not a real issue. The only time it doesn't go bang is if you get a light round and it doesn't make the slide travel back far enough to pick up the next round. Its very easy to shoot accurately and anyone I let shoot it hits with it right away. Awesome gun and a blast to shoot. Highly reccomend.

  • Adam

    My fiance bought me a sr22 after seeing me drool over it from the day I got my issue of guns & ammo with it and it's counterpart revolver. I have never had a problem with my river 22/45 bull barrel. And so far it looks like this one is going to be the same way. You can't beat ruger when it comes to pistols. Will be getting my first river rifle this week, a river m77 hawkeye in 243.

  • Dan

    I have the walther p22 and have never had a problem with it and it is shot on a regular basis. I also bought the Ruger about a month ago and they are very similar.

  • Tony

    I pick up a issc m22 made just like a glock 19 just a bit narrower and I love it you should check it out. Less than 250.00

  • Paul

    Not sure about why the exposed hammer is so "unusual", since it is very similar to the Walther p22.

  • Curt

    I have put over 500 rounds through pistol and functions great. Great pistol for the price ruger has got another winner.

  • Robby777

    I don't ever remember Ruger ever putting out a lemon. Too bad they never got the XGI going.

    • Mike

      I had a XGI flyer I carried around in my brief case waiting to see them start to show up…………still waiting like you, one of lifes bitter disappointments. Glad to see I'm not the only guy who was left hanging, crying himself to sleep at nights n the mid 80's.,

  • Tommy B

    All kinds of comments. I still don't know if the price is $500.00 or $100.00

    • James

      I have seen them from just under $300 to about $350. I bought mine about a month ago for $300 + tax. Great 22 & another great product from Ruger, I would recomend this to anyone looking for a fun reliable 22lr pistol.

  • Larry G

    Just bought mine for $300. Love it!

  • Teresa

    Just bought this gun a few days ago. Feels great in my hand. Shot about 500 rounds of Winchester 36 grain 128 0 fps ammo, after about 100 rounds started to not eject spent casings. Going to try some different ammo hopefully will fix the problem.

  • Mack Missiletoe

    I read 5 accounts of the Takedown Lever breaking, something to do with recoil of the slide hitting the lever. Renders the gun useless. Not good for $300 or $3.

    I moved my interests to the Ruger Mark III Family as well as the Beretta U22 Neos, even though I GREATLY love the design of the SR22 Pistol. I would be royally pissed if I had a problem with it, so I am keeping an eye on it for the long term. Once any kinks are worked out I may buy it. I love everything about it except for the bad reports on the takedown lever and that it has an Aluminum slide–not steel slide.

    If the SR22 Pistol should not be shot with High Velocity cartridges, now is the time for Ruger to speak. And turn that slide into Steel goodness!

    • Mack Missiletoe

      I warmed up to the Ruger Mark III family and purchased a Mark III Target blued 5.5". It is the most accurate pistol i own to 15 yards (haven't shot it further yet). I did not initially like the Mark III or 22/45, but once I learned about its rifle-like action which is very reliable, it's accuracy, & eventually warmed up to its classic styling, I realized it was a 'tru gem' haha

      Now I love the way it looks which I originally did not. I want to get some nice wood grips, though the black plastic looks nice with the classic red Ruger logo. I may still buy an SR22 later as long as any kinks are worked out. The Mark III is proven! It's just so darn accurate and reliable. It took me some hours learning all the field strips specifics, but it's soooo worth it!

      Ruger needs to post a more detailed video of the Mark III's take down. There are parts that can move around and require a bit of fiddlin, but it's a tough little booger and should last some lifetimes with proper care.

      I plan to shoot my Mark III a lot lot lot especially with the cheap prices of .22lr. It sure is fun picking out little boxes of 50ct. .22lr. So far I only shot Federal '550 bulk' 36gr HV, which worked very well with only 1 FTE. Probably a light powder load on that one.

    • urg0nnah8me

      The takedown lever issue has been addressed. So has the slide issue. I waited 7 months from release to buy mine expecting problems (as anyone should with a FIRST release of anything). I picked mine up Wednesday. Yesterday I was at the range during my lunch. I put 200 rounds of CCI mini-mag through it and it performed flawlessly. Once I returned home I dis-assembled the gun and inspected for wear. There was none. Though it might be a little early to tell, I was curious anyways.
      This gun is a real joy to shoot. Its comfortable. Accurate. Definitely worth the money.

  • sdog

    i like this gun, but i already have a ruger 22/45, ill have to wait and see if they release this with a threaded barrel, and then i would get one.

  • D.T.J.61

    I've owned this pistol for about 2 1/2 weeks and have put roughly 700 rounds of Cci mini-mags and their Stingers through it with no, I repeat, no hiccup at all!!! Great gun Ruger. Keep-up the great work!!!

  • G 19

    I got the first one in my town 2 weeks after it's intro. The rear sight was loose and falling off, and the mag is hard to seat. Why are rounds jumbled in the mag instead of a strait column like my Mark II. Mine would eject but not chamber next round using Federal Champion 40 grain and American Eagle high velocity 38 grain hollow points, even after cleaning. I switched to CCI Stingers and now works flawlessly. It's supposed to work with all ammo but needs high power rounds to function properly. With the right ammo I love this gun, and all my Rugers.

  • guest

    I bought mine on 1-23-2012. Shot about 1500 rounds no problem: no jams, fte, ftf, etc. However, the robber grip stretched and it slips off the frame easily. Called the company to ask what I should, so far no returned calls.

  • Dennis

    Bought this gun for my wife for her birthday. We shoot at our local range every Monday night. We both love this gun. Fits in her hand perfectly. 500 rounds and just a couple of dud Remington rounds. This gun is like my mk11, it will fire any brand of ammo. Thanks Ruger.

  • George

    I just bought this gun and its by far the funnest thing ive shot to date. It feels comfortable and is a great gun to teach my son with keep up the great work Ruger.

  • Allen Mills

    Purchased one this week after my friend let me shoot his. I love this gun. I had a full size sig sauer P220 conversion 22 that shot well but was a "jam-o-matic" due to the cheap plastic magazines (won's stay in place). The Ruger not only shoots much better but it has a better overall feel. Mine and my friends will shoot anything – not just the more expensive CCI's. Now I can shoot all day for a fraction of the cost of shooting other guns. This practice is helping me to be a better shooter- go get one!

  • Nate

    Is it very accurate?

    • joeD

      Nate, I was firing at a target with a 2 inch bullseye and the first ring out from the bullseye was 3 inchs. I was shooting from a steady rest and all my shots stayed inside the 3 inches except for the few that I pulled. IMO it shoots pretty darn good for a small 22 simi.

      • joeD

        Nate, I forgot to say I was shooting from 30 feet away. hope this helps.

  • John

    I found threaded barrels for the SR22 here http://www.twintechtactical.com
    Looks like they are taking orders for a production run. You contact them via their website and they get back with you.

  • joeD

    great little pistol shot mine for the first time today(300 rounds rimington golden bulk, federal bulk, winchester bulk, cci mini mags) no problems at all great little pistol and fun to shoot. MADE IN USA

  • AllAmericanShooter

    Very nice, thorough review! After shooting almost 14,000 rounds through mine, overall, I LOVE this gun. I agree with the author, that the DA trigger pull sucks, but SA (on mine) is very good. Out of the box, the sights were dead on, at least out to about 15 yards, which is the furthest I’d probably shoot it. The grip on mine wasn’t as difficult to remove as many have said, and I like the larger one. As for ammo, the cheaper the ammo, the more likely I am to have a round not fire, not eject, or not knock the slide back far enough to pickup the next round in the mag. But, mostly, it shoots anything. I’ve recommended it to many people. You can see me shooting mine here: http://www.youtube.com/AllAmericanShooter

    • BethGoBang

      Thank you for the link! It was very helpful! I'm getting the SR22 for Valentines Day, it'll be my first, I can't wait! I've been drooling over it since its debut.

  • Keith

    Bought the SR22 in April 2012 from KYgunco.com for $299. Have fired over 13,000 rounds of Blazer bulk, Federal Champion, CCI Mini Mag, and Winchester White Box through it and had very few failures. I would say that I have had approx. 125 failures and I think the majority are due to low blowback pressure due to insufficient powder load. These are ammo failures and not due to the SR22. This is one sweet 22lr semi-auto.
    Also … my daughter had the most trouble with it but that is because she is "limp-wristed" … she lets the blowback energy move through her limp wrist action instead of being kept in the slide action. Less blowback energy in the slide equals more failures to load or eject. Keep a stiff wrist and arm and this allows more of the blowback energy to stay in the slide action.

  • Alex

    I just picked this up today and put about 300 rounds with only 1 or 2 jams but it was due to inexpensive bulk ammo. Great gun and wife loved it, she's a first time shooter and did great. Very accurate and great feel. Great purchase to add to my .45 xd, hi point carbine 9mm and 12 gauge.
    Happy shooting!

  • s3gasisd

    I recently bought one of the Ruger SR22 just for the fun of shooting. It has performed flawlessly using Winchester 22LR 1280 FPS 36GR. bulk pack, not a single issue. This pistol is light weight, accurate out to 15 yards, easy to clean with great features. Not like shooting my 1911 Springfield but a whole lot of fun at the range and less expensive.

  • Chad

    Everyone's comments here convinced me to grab myself one of these while it was at a good low price. I love it. Shot almost 200 rounds today at the range. Only had 1 failure to feed and 1 failure to fire (using Winchester ammo). Even with no pistol experience I was able to get pretty tight groups out to 7 yards. Going to push it farther next week!

  • NavySubs

    I recently bought the SR22 and shot about 300 rounds. I haven't had any firing issues, using Blazer ammo. I love the magazines, they allow you to lessen the tension for fast, easy loading. For giggles, I tried shooting at a manhole sized target about 100 yards away. It took me a magazine to adjust for the distance. However, I could hit 6 or 7 out of ten rounds after. Fantastic gun.

  • Rick

    great shooter but like everyone else says if you use cheap ammo it may jam up due to light powder loads from the factory if we use better grade ammo it cycles fine with no problems lots of fun to shoot ,,,,,,another great pistol ruger built

  • nursetommy

    just obtained the sr-22. shot very well with 3 different types of ammunition, including CCI stingers. Offhand shooting at 25 feet produced 4 inch groups while firing at a rate of about 1 round per second. Due to lack of recoil, it was easy to stay on target. Never had a hiccup. Grips and all controls were very comfortable and easy to manipulate ( I am usually shooting 1911's ). I have purchased this for my girlfriend. She is small with small hands, and has weak dexterity strength. She was able to shoot it double action just fine (she had trouble with S&W .38 double action pull).

  • rugarfan

    Got the SR-22 acouple months ago. Have shot over 1800 rounds to date with no problems at all. Shoots very smoothly and easy to get tight groupings. Bought it for several reasons, a gun my son could learn with, cheap range shooting, etc. It is perfect and a very fun gun to shoot!

  • MORT BROOKLER

    I HAVE A NUBER OF RUGER PISTOLS,BUT THE NEW RUGER SR22 IS THE GREATEST AND MOST FUN AT THE SHOOTING RANGE ,EASY TO HANDLE,SHOOT USING ALL 22'S WITHOUT PROBLEMS,EXTREMELY ACCURATE AND EASY TO TAKE APART AND REASSEMBLE . THE MAGAZINE DOES A SOMEWHAT SHARPE EDGE WITH LOADING AND I HAVE FOUND AN INEXPENSIVE SOLUTION—-GO TO BRASS STACKER FOR AGREAT LOADING AID AND MADE IN AMERICA (17 DOLLARS SHIPPING INCLUDED).

  • Bruce Strong

    Bought my wife 1 about 2 months ago. She loves it. Went and took a carry class and of 8 people guess who shot best , yep mine lil wife and the sr22. Her group was awesome. over 25 rounds in a ragged hole in the x ring 5 rounds in the 9.The others were i the ring between these 2 . off hand and she was very nervous. Guess I might as well admit , mine was 1 of those beat. But my lc9 shoots great and all were good hits , only 1 would have been in the hip.
    Good little gun, I am going to have another soon. And the sr 22 is a good practice gun for the lc9. I can lay 1 on the other and the silouets are very similar. They fit the same holsters and feel remarkably similar. Trigger pull is different , but still close enough to be a great low cost practice tool.

  • Paul Soares

    I bought an SR22 in Oct '11 and have returned it to Ruger twice because of jamming and missfires with Federal, Winchester, and Rem. ammo. It still jams and is very inaccurate, perhaps I got a lemon but Ruger refuses to exchange it. I don't recommend this firearm!

  • Carbonyl

    I have about 2000 rounds through and have only had problems with Federal American Eagle. For some reason they tend not to rise high enough in the magazine to be stripped by the slide, no matter how carefully I load them. Everything else I've used worked great.

  • rippenape

    FUN, FUN, FUN! I picked up one of these in December and have put about 1500 rounds through it. Great little gun, and I mean little! My girlfriend loves the thing, it fits so well in her small hands. I have fed it all kinds of ammo and strangely the only stuff it doesn't like is the ammo pictured above with the gun. Winchester hyper-x and winchester 36gr 1280 fps, my gun HATES this ammo, I couldn't get through a clip without at least one or two fail-to-eject or FTF, sometimes resulting in the slide trying to chamber a new round up the butt of the un-ejected cartridge. Maybe my gun is special in its dietary needs, I had a couple problems with CCI tacticals too, the bullet tip would catch on the top edge of the barrel hole upon trying to chamber. Other ammo works great though, from stingers to some 20 year old remmys, no problems.

    • Michael Wayne Prince

      I had similar problems with mine. The food for today being Federal 40grain lead, auto match bulk I believe. I encountered several FTE, FTF and rounds trying to chamber on un-ejected case.I went through roughly about 150 rds. I was not too terribly disappointed with the pistol as I am quite certain it was the pistol just didn’t like the ammo. My brother had one of these pistols and at first, I dismissed it…but later had to have one. I will try other ammo before I start blaming the firearm, but I just do not think it will be the blame I will place on the Ruger. Very fun gun to shoot provided you find the right ammo for yours. I chose this pistol over the Sig Mosquito because of ammo problems. Certainly hope I do not have the same Sig problem with mine.

  • LouAnnWatson

    just bought the 10 22 takedown rifle and was considering a small 22 pistol to back in the bag to take along with. looks like this will be it

  • John396

    This is one of those guns that as soon as you pick it up & feel it
    “fit” right into your hand, you know immediately your going to buy it!

    Since ammo is in such short supply I took all my old ammo mixed boxes out to try.
    The SR22 ate them all with no problems, except for the subsonics (of course), and a couple of dud rounds.
    I see a couple people posted about it being picky, I can only assume its from mass production.

    Accuracy is great, although I have seen where some have had to adjust their sights, mine was right on.

    A
    couple of cautions, be careful getting the grip off and on, as it can
    pinch your hand when installing the extra grip. Also when switching the
    magazine feet, be sure to hold the spring retainers from flying out!

    Very smooth action on this, so no one should have any trouble pulling the slide to charge a bullet into the chamber.

  • New to Ruger

    Bough my SR22 abut 3 weeks ago. Finally found a bulk box of Remington 22 Thunderbolt High velocity lead round nose ammo and went to the range today. Nothing but trouble with jams, failure to eject, loading a round on top of an already chambered round. Made it through one, maybe 2 clips without problems till I put it up and went to my EAA Witness and Glock 26 which always work and make shooting fun. Very disapointed with the SR22 and wasn’t much fun to shoot due to all the problems. Every round that jamed had a gash in the lead tip that wasn’t there when it was loaded ino the mag. Right now I would like to shove it up Rugers, where the sun don’t shine spot. Was told it would take any ammo thrown at it but doesn’t seem to be the case. Wil try some different ammo if I can find any, before I give up on it and let everyone know it’s a peice of dung. Hoping for the best but not sure I shouldn’t have spent a little more cash for a better, more reliable pistol. And from what I’m reading the Ruger company really doesn’t care to assist with their product issues.

    • jojo 2150

      I’ve had my Ruger sr22 for bout a month,shot it 3 or 4 times now,bout 200 or 250 rounds,can’t say enough about this gun,really impressed with it,only issue I had was with older standard velocity ammo,just not enough oomph topush slide fully back.Once you’ve found the right ammo,(federal bluebox,armscor hp and older high vel. federals worked perfectly.

  • Dave

    Purchased a sr 22 for my wife, went to the range the next day, had a major problem, the trigger just dangled, took it back and was told there is a problem with the safety to magazine, switched to another sr 22, this time it jammed about after 5 rounds would not go into the barrel, the slide hit so hard it bent the cartridge, switched ammo and it fired perfectly, put about 100 rounds through it, first used CCI, switched to American Eagle

  • madfam004

    Due to the shortage of 22 cal. ammunition I switch to Crossman 2240 model 22 Cal. air canister air pistol a year ago. I had never had so much fun at target practice with such low cost for ammuniton, high quality pistol, and accurate. The only compaint is a sore finger from shooting too much. But, how can I stop when I can purchase 500 pellets for seven dollars and the air canister for 27 cents each and they are good for 40 good shots each. My target practice has not suffered and my shooting skills have sharpened due to pratice.

  • Kimberly Lindsley-guy

    i have a ruger sr22 .i love it but i hate that she is picky on what i feed her.at first i didnthave any problems with her.i wa only shooting cci ammo.when i switched i started having problems.ALOT of jamming .i took my gun to my ccw class and my instructor took a look with me and noticed that one of the lead tip ammo had a dent when we extracted it from a jam.we then tried stingers and federal full copper jacket and it didnt have a problema at all.i think the jamming problems we are seeing is just with the ammo .i say stick with a better ammo and stay away from lead .another downside of the lead is it builds up in a barrel and is arder to clean anyway.

  • Jim

    I purchased a brand new Walther P22 about two years ago. I really liked the way the gun looked. It was a bit of a pain to clean and I always had a lot of problems while shooting with it. I am a very experienced shooter of all calibers and types of both handguns and rifles. I had problems with all different types of ammo, CCI, Winchester, Remington, Federal and Aquila. The P22 would fail to fire, fail to load, and fail to eject from time to time. The one thing that was consistent was that it never performed the way that I felt it should. I was needless to say, very disappointed. I maintained the P22 well and had a gunsmith friend check it out thoroughly. He told me that there was no issues with the gun but that he had seen the same problems with many of the Walther P22′s. The final nail in the coffin for the Walther is when he told me about the material that the slide was made of. The slide is a pot metal casting from an aluminum, tin, alloy. It is made of powdered metal that is poured and cast. That doesn’t sound like a big deal, but then he showed a cracked slide from one and said that there has been a problem with the slides actually shattering while firing. I did some investigating on the web, and sure enough, his statements were backed up. I decided to part with the Walther and purchase another .22 semi auto pistol. I looked hard at the Sig mosquito, but was warned by many to steer clear of it, also did not have a great reputation. I have owned a Ruger 10-22 rifle and a Ruger mini 30 for years and have never had any problems with either. I checked out the Ruger and verified that the slide on the SR22 is made of milled aluminum, not a powder metal casting. It is a much stronger, well engineered slide. I decided to purchase a Ruger SR22. It have now had the SR22 for about four months. I have shot it with CCI mini mag, 36grain hollow points, Aquila 40 grain, CCI 40 grain velocitor hollow points, and American Eagle 38 grain hollow points. The SR22 performs incredibly well! I have not had one jam, not one failure to fire, not one failure to eject. The SR22 is very well balanced and feels great in the hand. It is very accurate and point shots extremely well. The sights are excellent. Take down for cleaning is tooless and simple. I am extremely well pleased with my decision to purchase the firearm. It makes a great addition to a small backpack for hiking. I hope this review is helpful to some, I apologize for the long winded version, but I wanted to provide readers with a true in depth review. Buy the SR22, you won’t be disappointed.

    • Joseph

      I own a P22 and have for a number of years. I got it used (seemingly lightly) and have had a lot of fun with it. I settled on it over the Sig Mosquito I guess due to size and feel and was hoping the Walther name meant quality unknown to me about the whole Umarex thing. I had some issues early on trying Winchester white box but hardly any issues with Remington Golden HPs. If the chamber was dirty I’d start having issues per normal but otherwise it seemed fine. I learned of the “P22 Bible” and have done some of the modifications and have good results. Granted I realize you shouldn’t have to modify a factory gun in order to promote longevity/reliability but such is the case. The most recent issue I ran into is using Aquila powderless rounds (which I knew wouldn’t cycle the action) failing to extract on a manual cycle. My g/f must’ve dropped it or banged it and necessitated ordering some new sites (plastic) and I put it back together without sighting it in and I was mightily impressed that I could (not necessarily the first shot) hit 12ga shells at 10yds.

      • oneloosenut2000

        you made the right choice to pass on that sig .22 mosquito. crazy gritty trigger pull. in less than 300 rounds the barrel is coming loose from its pinned into plastic frame and the rear sight. holy crap. it looks like it was mounted on the slide but no. inside the slide is the main bolt that it mounts to and it wiggles very bad. you can go off the target at just 20 feet from it shifting. the rear sight is part of the bolt and only pass through a hole at the back of the slide. so you can wiggle the rear sight very far off center. i think i paid 425 with the threaded barrel. i will sell it for 100 bucks. like new.

  • GlialCell

    Mine is going back to ruger for the 2nd time in 2 weeks with failure to extra issues. Hopefully, they will get it right this time.

    • GlialCell

      extract that is

    • Frank Matchung

      Ruger has the best customer service of any firearm manufacturer I have ever worked with, you should be in good shape when the pistol comes back.

  • brich

    Bought this gun about a month and a half ago , first time shoot/gun owner wanted something little and reliable. Did months worth of research and this by far is top of the line in my opinion. Every easy to learn and control being a small female … abs love this gun !

  • Jack Frost

    Just bought the SR22 and the 9LC both from Ruger. They’re both terrific, light weight, easy to take down (the SR22 is a bit easier) and both are always dependable. They go bang! when you pull the trigger without fail. Strangely the .22 weighs in a few ounces heavier than the 9mm. I use the SR mostly for target practice as it’s less expensive to fire but sometimes the .22 is also my pocket pistol when I’ve locked the 9mm and it’s not handy. I wish there was a different set of grips available for both and I also wish there was a better fit of the bottom of the magazines at the bottom of the pistol grip for the SR22. There’s a bit of headspace that allows the magazines to wobble just a bit. Ruger should work on that. The 9mm magazines fit better, but again, oddly, the 9mm only comes with one. The SR22 comes with two. I also looked at the Sig Mosquito and the Walther P22 but the Ruger felt the best plus I was warned about both of the other models are finicky about ammo. No matter what I feed either of my Ruger’s they work all the time every time. I’ve even owned a Browning Challenger, and a Walther PPK/s but, the Ruger out performs both of them. I know that I’ll get many years of use from each of these great pistols. Keep it up Ruger!

  • Frank Matchung

    I’m looking for a .22 pistol to compliment my new .22 can (if the ATF ever gets back to me) and its between this and the 22/45. At first I thought it would be a tradeoff with the 22/45 having the upper hand in accuracy and reliability and the sr22 being the more enjoyable gun to shoot suppressed but the more I read about it the more I get convinced that the sr22 is in fact quite accurate and reliable, I like how its similar to other common pistols, unlike the 22/45 which looks like a raygun!

  • scott thieman

    I just bought this gun based on reviews around the web saying that it wasn’t picky about ammo. WRONG!!! I fired 300 rounds this afternoon and the only ammo it fired OK was Remington HP’s. It cycled these fairly well. However… it left Winchester HP cases stuck and had to be tapped out with a rod, Federal SP’s almost all failed to load the next round and barely were able to eject spent ammo, so there were a lot of dry fires. I own a Buck MarK that will fire anything, so the Ruger is a complete disappointment. I like the size and feel, but a gun that won’t fire somewhat reliably… worthless and would be ashamed to sell it. With the current ammo shortage, I doubt I’ll keep it since finding a specific brand that the pistol might shoot is ultimately to much of a pain to bother with. I probably had over 50 fail to eject, misloads, jams, or dry fires. Ruger lost a customer, never again

    • scott thieman

      since I left a flaming review (which the gun deserved) I figure I’d follow up on the review. I’d taken the gun out three more times. Each outing had slightly different results. Only High Velocity solid points fired consistently, which was unacceptable. I sent the gun into Ruger for repair. Within one week it was returned with a not that a new part was installed and the gun had been test fired satisfactory. I just got back from the range and am happy to say that 200 rounds of every type of ammo did fire successfully. I still am hesitant to trust it, but it is operating a whole lot better.

back to top